About Nashville

Nashville is the capital of Tennessee and the county seat of Davidson County. It is located in the north-central part of the state on the Cumberland River and covers 527.9 square miles. The city has a consolidated city–county government which includes six smaller municipalities in a two-tier system. As of 2010, the population of Nashville was 601,222. The population of Davidson County as a whole, including all municipalities, was 626,681. Nashville is the second largest city in Tennessee, just behind Memphis.


Nashville has a humid subtropical climate with chilly to very cold winters and hot, humid summers. Snowfall occurs in the winter in Nashville, but is usually not heavy.


Nashville was founded in 1779 and was named for the American Revolutionary War hero Francis Nash. The city quickly grew in population largely due to its strategic location, accessibility as a river port, and its reputation as a major railroad center. In 1806, Nashville was incorporated as a city and became the county seat of Davidson County, Tennessee. In 1843, the city was inducted as the capital of the state of Tennessee.


The city is a center for many industries including music, health care, publishing, banking, and transportation. Nashville is also home to a large number of colleges and universities. It is recognized as a tourist destination because of its well known music scene, art and entertainment background, and its growing food culture.